Bataan National Park

Bataan National Park

Bataan National Park
IUCN category II (national park)
Morong, 2108 Bataan, Philippines - panoramio (22).jpg
Bataan National Park near Mabayo, Morong

Bataan National Park is a protected area of the Philippines located in the mountainous interior of Bataan province in Central LuzonRegion. The park straddles the northern half of Bataan Peninsula near its border with Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Zambales. The park was first established in 1945 under Proclamation No. 24 with an initial area of 31,000 hectares and included portions in Subic, Zambales. The park was reduced in 1987 to its present size of 23,688 hectares (58,530 acres) and is now wholly located in Bataan province. The park encompasses the Bataan towns and cities of Hermosa, Orani, Samal, Abucay, Balanga, Bagac and Morong.

Mount Natib with its 6 by 7 km (3.7 by 4.3 mi) wide forested acorn-shaped caldera is located in the middle of the park. Activities in the park include nature viewing, bird watching, and trekking to its several peaks and waterfalls. The park is located 101 kilometres (63 mi) from Manila, its mountains can be seen across Manila Bay from the city.

Topography and ecology

Bataan National Park is covered by tropical jungle and mountain terrains with significant geological features such as rivers, springs and waterfalls. Pasukulan and Dunsulan falls are found within the park, as are important species of flowers and ground orchids. It is also home to several wild monkeys and other varieties of insects and birds.

Published on : 17/02/2018 by Puerto Parrot

Fair use disclaimer

Some material is coming of the internet. If applicable, the link to the original page is added. If you own the work and feel that it shouldn't be posted on this website, please Contact us or visit our copyright and privacy page. Thank you.

There are no comments.